Plan for sessions

Bronze

The plan below will be dependent on the progress of the pandemic, we are hopeful to be able to provide these sessions  face to face, however, some may need to be virtually or postponed if the situation changes.

All Wednesday sessions will usually be between 6.50pm and 9pm at the Eyot Centre.

Plan for the training walk, practice expedition and qualifying expedition to take all day/weekend – exact timings will be communicated during the training sessions.


Bronze Participants
Monday 5 October New participants to register interest by this date
Wednesday 14 October  7.00 pm – 8.00 pm Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Introduction (potentially virtually details to follow)
Wednesday 28 October 7.00 pm – 8.00 pm Drop in session to discuss award sections (optional)
Wednesday 2 December Training
Wednesday 9 December Training
Wednesday 6 January Training
Wednesday 3 February Training
Sunday 7 February 10.00 am – 4.00pm Day Navigation Exercise
Wednesday 24 February Training
Sunday 28 February 10.00 am – 4.00pm Day Navigation Exercise
Wednesday 17 March Training
Saturday 27 March to Sunday 28 March Practice Expedition
Wednesday 31 March Practice Expedition Wrap up and Qualifying Expedition Planning
Wednesday 21 April Qualifying Expedition Planning
Wednesday 9 May Expedition Planning
Saturday 15 to Sunday 16 May all day Qualifying Expedition
Wednesday 19 May Presentation and Kit Return

Silver

The plan below will be dependent on the progress of the pandemic, we are hopeful to be able to provide these sessions  face to face, however, some may need to be virtually or postponed if the situation changes.

All Wednesday sessions will usually be between 6.50pm and 9pm at the Eyot Centre. All Tuesday canoe training sessions will be between 6.45pm and 9pm. All Saturday Canoe training Sessions will be 9.00 am to 4.00 pm, unless otherwise agreed.

If you are starting the award at the silver level, and so have not completed a bronze expedition, you will need to attend the expedition training sessions shown above for bronze award participants until the training walk. This is to ensure we have covered the training framework defined by the Duke of Edinburgh Award

Previously, we have offered a canoe expedition and the dates to complete the Silver Expedition via canoe the dates are below, if you like to do a walking expedition then please get in contact with us and we will arrange a group for the coming year.

Plan for the training walk, practice expedition and qualifying expedition to take all day/weekend – exact timings will be communicated during the training sessions.

Silver Participants
Monday 5 October New participants to register interest by this date
Wednesday 14 October 8.15 pm – 9.00 pm Silver Duke of Edinburgh Introduction
Sunday 4 October 10.00 am – 4.00 pm Training
Wednesday 28 October 7.00 pm – 8.00 pm Drop in session to discuss award sections (optional)
Sunday 8 November 10.00 am – 4.00 pm Training
Saturday 17 January 10.00 am – 4.00 pm Training
Tuesday 20 April Canoe Training
Tuesday 27 April Canoe Training
Saturday 1 May 10.00 am – 4.00 pm Training
Tuesdays 4, 11, 18 and 25 May Canoe Training
Tuesdays 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 June Canoe Training
Friday 11 June to Sunday 13 June Practice Expedition
Tuesday 6 July Expedition Planning
Tuesday 13 July Expedition Planning
Week of 26 July to 1 August 3 full day assessed expedition